Hey University of Illinois, fix your WiFi

No WiFi on a college campus, where are we, North Korea?

There are roughly 50,000 students at the University of Illinois, and following Thanksgiving, WiFi across campus has been nonexistent. I wanted to pay attention during my Accounting lecture today but couldn’t even pull up the slides to follow along. You might ask why didn’t you pay attention to the professor? Well, guess what buddy, I had to fix what I thought was a broken computer. I’m writing this on my laptop using a hotspot from my phone. You think the University gives a damn?

During the homestretch of the semester and no WiFi across campus, probably explains why I’ve seen engineering students in the daylight. If tech services don’t figure this out soon, oh buddy they’re in for a rude awakening. Lawsuits everywhere from trust fund babies blaming their lack of WiFi on never going to class and missing assignments. Are we calling this WiFi-gate? Maybe WiFi Watch? The latter rolls of the tongue more, but if campus WiFi isn’t going to work, you may as well cancel classes.

My mind’s racing trying to figure out why the WiFi’s out, why now? Did a mouse chew up some wires? Eh. A student who is #done with the semester and took matters into their own hands? Doubtful. China hacking into the system in an attempt to convince all of its students to come home and go to school?

giphy-1

Can’t even go to the library and do homework, what a shame. I shouldn’t be surprised because this state is incompetent, but figure it the fuck out. Can’t you just reset the router?

Leave a comment